2003-12-22

Politics

The day is quite lovely today, with a brilliantly blue sky and turninng leaves. Outside my window I can see that the sunflowers are holding up quite decently. To be honest, I didn' think that they would survive, and especially after yesterday's scare. When I was on my way to work yesterday morning, I'd say that it was about seven O'clock, there was ice on the windshield of the car. There was also a thin sheet of ice on the roof. I don't remember whether or not the plants were watered, I really do fear that they will die because of this dreadful cold.

So far, I have studied chapter twenty in my history book, and I am planning to study about eight more chapters so that I may have a more flexible schedule when I start school again. I will try to finish up the affidavits for the mock trial case, and perhaps even start on my direct examinations. What else, oh yes--I have to call the computer people and book a flight (something which is impossible). I simply cannot find a round-trip ticket for June thirteenth until July fourth. The first few days was unnerving, after all, the Georgetown trip is perhaps the most important that I will ever take in my high school career. Then again, when you imagine yourself doing interviews on Capital Hill--during election time I might add--that can get truly exciting. Now, I simply feel happy that I have this opportunity. Hopefully, after this trip, I will once again change for the better. We are allowed full use of all the facilities--ah! a library at Georgetown University! Now this all seems like a dream of some sort. Heaven--school six days a week arguing politics and public affairs.

Speaking of which, I have been following the news lately. Usually I can't watch the news because mysteriously, I switch to Bloolmberg (what can I say? I like the economy better) Anyway, Libya has decided to cease the creation of their weapons of mass destruction, which can bring relief. I will admit, I am a Republican...so there. My parents voted for Bush, and so will I, because I am a republican. I believe that this was a just and necessary war, and even though it wasn't widely supported, we won. Now, you see the Democratic candidates trying to indulge in the war's victory by using it as a campaign strategy. How disgusting, these were the same people who five eight months ago did not support this war. If it is about oil, so what? We NEED oil--I drive to a lot of places. Is it about revenge? Well, Saddam has killed many many people, he deserves it. Does it matter what it is about as long as the outcome is a liberated country? Ok, perhaps some people may say that this war is a complete deviation from the matter at hand, which was the fight against terrorism, but even so, we still liberated a country, and our economy is doing pretty good. Here you have these Democratic pigs trying to criticize Bush's "failures" when ::ahem:: our last Democratic president couldn't do anything about the terrorist attacks (the bombing of the embassies etc.) because he was too busy recieving head from his intern. Maybe George Bush has acted too hastily, too erratic, too impulsive. But, he has come out as a strong president, and not one who hides behind a woman's skirt. Some of his policies I don't agree with, but it's human nature to be biased. At the end, it all boils down to one thing: we live in the U.S. and not any other country, therefore, we must do things for our best interests.

I was very pleased to find out that Iraqui women are now fighting for a place in their new government, so that they may help in drafting Iraq's new constitution. I am not very happy about banning gay marriages. Perhaps it is not the time yet, the world isn't ready.

aeka at 12:09 p.m.