2003-12-23

Around the world, hunting, and more...

I have a great abundance of things to say in today's blog. In fact, there are so many that I may not remember them all, so that I may have to write another one later on in the day for when I do rememeber.

Last night, I was watching this show on the National Geographic channel about this American family that went to India to live for a week or so. When they got there, they were absolutely aghast at the meagre living conditions, and I was vaguely reminded of Cuba. For the majority of the week, all that the family could do was complain, instead of saying, "oh well, this is once in a lifetime huh? I better just try something new." This is why we simply cannot get along in this world of ours. We are much too closed-minded. If I had to live in that village for a week, and act like the docile female, I would do it...without hesistance. I would do it because it is another thing that I add to my list of experiences. I cannot complain about the heat or the lack of plumbing. Instead, I would make the great attemtp to find out about the lifestyle of my hosts. After all, that is the same thing that I did when I went to Cuba. I would walk throughout the town making friendly conversation with the residents. Yes, I got sick because I drank the water, ate the meat, and ate the fruits. So? My ::ahem:: stomach problem only lasted for a day, and afterwards I was back on my feet.

This morning, I was watching National Geographic again, and they were giving an interview with Ted Nugent--the arch enemy of any animal rights activist. I love animals, and I have a deep reverence for them. I do not believe in killing deer or cows, or chickens (that is why I have been a vegetarian for a year now). I have this stereotypical scenario of a Bubba dressed in camouflauge with a confederate flag sticking out of his truck aiming a gun at a poor and defenseless deer who's IQ undoubtedly exceeds his. However, that interview with Ted Nugent clarified things for me a bit. While his philosophy is not exactly like mine, it does have that essence of reciprocity with nature that I so believe in. There's respect for the animal, because not only does he hunt it, but he also eats it. It's not an ego trip, but rather it is a reverence for what this earth has. I do respect that, but what I do not respect is the fact that we as humans abuse that privilege. We co-inhabit this earth with the animals, and yes, it is only natural that we eat meat and such. However, we are getting too carried away. Personally, as long as every single hunter out there thinks as Ted Nugent does, then we would have no problem. The unfortunate side to this issue is that there are numerous "Bubbas" out there. The Christian faith does not believe in reciprocity with nature, therefore, as long as we have these blind and ignorant Christians out there, the world will never be safe. Only by getting rid of organized religion, and following a middle path that is rid of radical and extremist behavior can we truly have peace. The Israeli-Palestinina conflict for example. What truly pulls the triggers and plants the bombs? This passionate hate that is deeply ingrained in the hearts of these men who barely know each other. They do not know that each one has a family, or that each one is human. They only know that they are not Jewish, or such and such. In Macromegas (I believe that is the title, it could be Micromegas) Voltaire said something like "what are they fighting and killing each other for?"

"Little lumps of earth" replied the human.

Little lumps of earth with religious significance. People, stop this nonsense, we are all much too grown up for this.

aeka at 11:19 a.m.