2004-09-27

Trimming the Bush and Ms. Bluestone

I thought it about time that I dedicate an entry to my wonderful, loud-mouthed--but still wonderful--journalism teacher, Ms. Bluestone.

Absolutely and wholeheartedly I mean it when I say: she's so refreshing.

A total liberal, and definitely on my side, she applauds my editorials, and has extended my deadline whilst every other journalist in the newsroom has to scuddle to get theirs done...anyway, how interesting can "clubs" and "new teachers" be?

My latest darling will pertain solely to this election, and I certainly hope the Republicans didn't think I would write an article without bringing their atrocities to light...

Two words: voter suppression

This angers me beyond anything; at the fact that Republicans are aiming to suppress the Detroit vote. Of course, I'm sure it's only coincidental that 80% of the Detroit population is African-American and more prone to voting Democrat...

The again, Detroit is only one of several problems worrying me at the moment, I need to worry about Florida and the tiny incidents we've had...oh, I don't know, um...state troopers marching into the homes of elderly African-Americans? Oh, and my absolute favorite: idiot poll-workers blatantly disobeying the law by precluding eligible citizens from voting. And this is all because they don't have their photo IDs.

But I digress, and this entry was supposed to be about Ms. B, and how wonderful she is. I adore her because she encourages me to have a sharper tongue than the one I already have.

I was thinking today about my time at Georgetown University (oh yes, when I finally came out of the closet, and proclaimed myself a raging liberal) and all of the evil Texan conservatives I met (show me on Democratic Texan, and I'll show you a man worthy of respect), and that irritating Republican whom I wanted to tie up and slap around...

Well, I have come to the conclusion that while other political parties--even if all politicians are bastards--have remote desires to shape the country, Republicans truly don't care! I know this is isn't new, but I feel as if I have to remind myself from time to time...only when I'm getting soft.

I really wish we'd all vote Nader! I need to say this more often--very empowering.

I have narrowed down the names for which to title my article:

Election 2004: Think Before You Act (inside joke)

Green Party: Trimming the Bush

aeka at 9:10 p.m.