2006-03-15

The Waste of Space

I can't say much about last night's dinner, save that Jake was getting on my last nerve.

I've learned that usually, when people irritate me, it's because they remind me of that part of myself which I really hate. Jake does just that sometimes: pretentious, hates to be wrong (though clearly he is some times)...

I can't fathom how someone who has never read Eliot or Pound of Plath--in fact, someone who isn't very well read at all--could come out and make these pseudo-intellectual statements, passing off like someone who is an expert. A big "fuck you" to that--I hate being contradicted just for the sake of it.

But the truth is, in many ways, I behave like a pompous asshole, mainly because I'm not secure with my own intelligence. However, the biggest difference between myself and people like that is that I know how to take action, and recognize that many times...I'm just not a genius.

I have always made a point of setting objectives, achieving them, and being proud of myself. Albeit he claims to take pride in his work, I hardly see it. I cannot respect someone whose ego does not permit him to be wrong. These are the people who, sadly, are a waste of space at university. Intelligence means nothing, but ambition is everything.

Fuck you, Jake. I'm graduating Summa Cum Laude and will not be ashamed of it. And I also won't be ashamed of stealing your money and oppressing you once I become part of upper-class America. So sorry if my family has more money than yours, utter bastard.

aeka at 10:56 a.m.