2005-12-13

U of R

My "dirt" arrived yesterday in a large box from Sephora. Jonathan Antin is a genius!

Jaimie and I went to go and pick it up at the post office. I don't usually make any compromise with my hair--I doubt I'd buy something under $10. And, in fact, methinks Biolage is the cheapest I own.

Lately, and though I don't want to admit this completely, I've been growing fonder of history. My majors of course are political science and economics, but there is still something about history that brings back fond memories.

The book we're currently reading is by Tindall & Shi--definitely not written like The Enduring Vision; a book, which I immediately loved.

I saw the wind symphony last week and Tchaikovsky was played at Eastman. I hope that in the future, they'll play Rachmaninoff, or Brahms, even...but it's rare. Though this year we are celebrating Mozart's birthday by holding several concerts.

Finals week reminds me of the type of school to which I came, and I have to say that everyone is charming...but that's about the only thing I can truly say: charming.

Certainly, we're all polite...but the competition causes a lot of tension. Let's put it this way: I hate being given dirty looks by girls whom I don't even know just because I study more than they do.

I think that here, people are judged by the amount of time they put into studying--usually the more hours, the better rating you get.

We pretend like we're a party school; like we're a "jock" school--who are we kidding? It's safe to say that U of R are, well, nerds. But I'm assuming that most schools are like that.

I'm listening to Kachaturian and I have to revise my history notes, as well as my comparative politics notes.

aeka at 9:46 p.m.