2005-06-26

Castles in the Sea

It has been said that one has not truly lived until one has the ability to profoundly regret; the words have been uttered too many times.
Regret is the ingredient my life lacks, but standing against the popular belief, I will strongly affirm that...I have lived. I am living.
I have begun this journey that is so pure...because I remember--I have not truly lived unless I remember, and, unless I become that lost and idle boat at dawn, carried back and forth by the sweet ebbs of simple moments. thus, I have lived.
There is a certain change that the soul must undergo to be truly human, and there are certain obstacles all humans should endure to discover they have souls.
Our minds ceaselessly wander back into the lakes of the past, and our body surprises us, remembering to feel the same flashing, electric currents through the spine, and smelling the same smells and painting the world with those same colors. We become and certify ourselves as travellers of the past, with crooked wooden canes to carry our weight through every path--we drink the smiles and glimmers of every star.
And whether or not we are aware, our hearts make that long trip back up the cold mountain of memories...each day.
Our bodies can drift alongside the river, weaving into the current, and floating like that of a rag doll's. We will visit our castles in this sea, and marvel at what we have built.

aeka at 3:00 p.m.