2005-04-09

Prom Madness!

"I don't believe we have this color. In fact, a girl was in here yesterday looking for it," she's young and quite pale. I can tell that she really does want to help me out, but I suppose that if they're all out, there's nothing that I can do. She continues talking: "It's a very new color--well, it's a new idea. No one's using it as of yet so no one may even have it."

"I have time to search," I say.

Of course I have time to search. Prom is on May 14 and I have to get that dressed made on time. How difficult is it to find pastel, olive-green charmeus? Honestly!.

"You may want to try changing the color scheme?" She suggests.

Change the color scheme? But this dress is the color scheme! It is the detail and the fabric!

My most dreaded nightmare--and I have had nightmares about this--is showing up at prom: two or three girls dressed in about the same dress as I. And then me saying that I got my dress at--gags--the mall, and about five or six girls chime up--because you know it's true--and say, "oh! me too!"

Yes...well.

If I am going to prom, I shall do it correctly...and, differently, which, in my case most likely means more expensively than everyone else. Again, my objective is not to be flashy, but it is to stand out.

I hate strappy dresses and little beads stuck to fabrics and the basic evening colors of black, midnight-blue, etc. etc. which high school girls are so keen on wearing. Not only that, but I've seen the new prom dresses--gasp.

Alright, I'm a bitch, I know...

I did find shoes though, with rhinestones on the front. The rhinestones do sound quite ornate--a bit much, perhaps, but they're beautiful without being gaudy.

Mom and I spent five hours in between store-hopping and going to the tailor's to deliver the fabric and get measured. It turns out that the tailor will also be making a tie for Al out of the same fabric I ordered today--yes, I did end up finding and ordering the fabric.

And Al's still in Montreal doing his work. I miss him. Most importantly, I need to hear him agonize over the new tie he'll wear.

aeka at 10:21 p.m.