2005-04-03

Reflections on a Holy Week

It's still somewhat wintry down here--chilly air and bright sunshine seem to dab the soul with bliss.

In two weeks I'll be going to Rochester for their Multicultural Visitation Program--for the entire weekend. At times, I still get nervous about moving away but something tells me that once I begin exploring campus, my excitement will grow rapidly.

As an adult, I want to be able to do things: travel, try new things, and most importantly, have the courage to move on. In all our glamorous sulking, we forget that in the end, we're all going to the exact same place (despite the road we take to get there) and there's really no use in getting far too wrapped up in ourselves, is there?

T.S. Eliot--brilliant man and an excellent poet. Obviously, like Ezra Pound, he's now dead, as is Thoreau, Hamilton, Whitman, Asher B. Durand, Pollock, Picasso, etc. etc. etc.

You know, many of us are born with wonderful gifts, but our luck and talent it only relative. Our happiness is only relative...the things we have can only take us so far, and do so much for us. I'd dread to wake up one morning and see a charlatan when looking in the mirror--are we as pure of soul and heart and passion as we truly think ourselves?

Yesterday, our Pope passed away--Papa Juan-Pablo II, as we say in Spanish. I am a Roman-Catholic...or, I was baptized as such. I was an observant Catholic until I reached the age of 17. Since then my belief in God has gone through an experience resembling that of a roller-coster, and it's dwindled, somewhat.

But I can still appreciate tradition, and I can still appreciate the traditions that come with being a Catholic. Like any other Catholic around the world and that I know personally, the Pope's death is hurtful. We attended mass last night, and for the first time in months, I was glad to go and be there. Our priest spoke in Latin as well as Spanish. It was beautiful, but sad nonetheless...I can only hope that the successor can do just as much good.

Methinks he died peacefully with nothing in his soul to torment him. I wonder if it can be matched and compared to my own change and how peaceful I feel now. Morality, for the entire world is not necessary, and neither should it be stipulated. But for one individual to seek his or her own happiness, and choose to find it through that...then, well, that's respectable.

aeka at 9:45 a.m.