2005-02-22

The Prom Planner

The days are crazy, I must admit. My trip to Canada last week has set me back in Calculus, however, it's work that I don't mind making up--given, though it is quite a lot of it.

"Sex and the City"--Saturday night. I enjoy watching that television show, and it's probably the only one I can actually watch (aside from "Seinfeld" re-runs). It's always comforting to know that there are more women out there who share my obsession (and courage for spending) with bags and shoes. It was the episode in which one of the girls was getting married...and had not planned a single detail.

This is how I feel--with so much to do, and I've not even begun to plan for prom, aside from the few abstract ideas I have in my head. Al's coming with me to my prom.

The problem is that I cannot decide on the dress; and what bothers me even more is the fact that he's already chosen his suit. I know this much for my dress: off-white, satin, gloves...and?

What sort of cut for the shoulders? What kind of shoes? If I'm going to have this dress tailor-made, then I need to start right now, and finding the time to flip through bridal magazines (they are surprisingly helpful) becomes difficult. Should there not be some sort of guru for situations such as these? Does such thing as a "prom planner" (as opposed to wedding planner) actually exist? I'd walk straight to their office and say:

"Yes. Hello. I need a dress--without those hideous, cliche straps--that is simple, yet elegant. Sexy, but not revealing. Modern, but with a 40s ballgown twist..."

I suppose that I need to start planning, eh? I tell myself it's only a dress. But it's more than a dress...it's the gown I will be wearing to appear with my boyfriend at my prom. Just as I told Pierce last night: if I am to attend prom with my official (and only) significant other and allow the senior class to dig their noses into my private affairs for one night, well then, damn it I better do it with style.

So, anyone know a good prom planner?

aeka at 8:53 p.m.