2005-02-16

Trip

Tampa International Airport--12:30 p.m.

And I'm running around in circles because my parents always get lost when in this airport (they did it the last time Alastair came to visit), and I'm desperately trying to get my boarding pass for Air Canada--get to the gate--but pick up a chicken Caesar Salad with a Starbucks coffee before that time. I check my luggage and put the carry-on by the Air Canada gate. And so lunch was good...

Air Canada aircraft:

Right after the captain turns off the "fasten seat belts" sign, I head towards the bathroom to take another look at myself: dark-denim, lowcut hiphuggers (with long, wool socks underneath--what am I, crazy?); tall, black, knee-length boots; elbow-length, black, skin-hugging GAP shirt; and my off-white Cashmere hoodie. On my arm, I'm holding my baby-pink corderouy, wool-lined coat. Looking in the mirror, I'm satisfied with myself...and I stand there, transfixed and trying to imagine what Alie's reaction will be when he sees me.

My flight arrived late in Toronto. What was originally supposed to have arrived at 5:05, arrived at 5:35 p.m. And since I was connecting to Ottawa at 6:10 and had to go through customs...well, then, like the Canadian next to me said: "It'll be a tight transfer, eh?"

So that was a way to make me almost lose it--the fact that I would be missing the flight to see my boyfriend. Luckily, the Toronto-Ottawa flights leave by the hour--I took the 7:10, which, gave me enough time to get through customs. Unfortunately, my cell phone company decides to give me roaming charges, and some phone numbers, I couldn't even reach--including Al's. Yes, I called and left several voicemails. Yes, he called and gave me the "Libet, where are you?" tone, only trying his hardest to cover it up.

Getting on the my Ottawa connection, I sit back on the seat--impatient, and thinking that Alie must be on the verge of hyperventilation after seeing that I'm not one of the 7:15 Ottawa arrivals. On my part, there was not as much nervousness...however, what did drive me to near-point of insanity was the fact that he would be getting worried.

The plane lands and I'm eager to get off. Luckily, Ottawa Airport is not as large as Toronto's. I'm walking to the sound of my heels hitting carpet, thinking what it is that I'm going to do if he's not at the designated area.

I begin to worry somewhat as I'm going down the escalator--scouting around, and not seeing him. I look directly in front of me--to the 5'12 blond wearing a St.-Alexandre jacket...and holding a flower. As the escalators move down, I begin smiling...not knowing exactly what to do or say to my boyfriend, whom I haven't seen in months.

"Little lady..." he says, looking straight into my eyes.

"Handsome," I respond, and I grab onto his thick coat at I stand there, kissing him. It was one of the greatest moments, driving back to our hotel.

And I once more felt his lips, the edges and firmness of his young, athletic body...and, the glacier-blue eyes I fell in love with. And I remembered once more how it felt to be with entrapped with him, within the jungle of fog that rises from a shower...or staring into someone's eyes in the darkness--feeling his hands dance on my waist and hearing his voice whisper "I love you".

I have gotten used to sleeping by his side--waking up, and hearing him ask, "How are you, baby?"

Valentine's Day was wonderful--perfect. We'd spent the entire day in bed, and only went out when he took me out to dinner.

Last night, he kissed my ear and whispered that he'd miss me. And, I cried and buried my face in his neck, letting the tears dampen it. I remember giggles, sobs, and sighs; I remember his hand caressing mine and the familiar scent of his neck; but I don't recall us ever being as passionate; as sincere...

And this morning, on the plane, I opened up my Calculus book and found two notes in there--both from him. He must have slipped them in there, somehow...and I know now that this is definitely the man I love...

And, the only man in my life.

aeka at 9:38 p.m.