2004-11-17

JCO+William Faulkner...definitely not sitting in a tree...

Once more, I must give credit to Joyce Carol Oates, who truly is a brilliant writer...

I've just completed Them, which, I must say is far more impacting than A Garden of Earthly Delights (and I thought the latter was the be-all, end-all...shows how naive I am).

Short stories like "Life After High School", and "Heat" were also amazing...but Them just...disturbed me!

Joyce Carol Oates, your novels are excellent, disturbing, quirky, and at the same time, possessing such a high degree of verisimilitude, ultimately, allowing the reader to gain more perspective on life--reality...

WOMAN, YOU ARE GOOD!

William Faulkner...I'm starting to get more and more into him. Despite the fact that he uses the word, "nigger" as if there were no tomorrow.

Then again, he was known to have been very...southern.

aeka at 5:34 p.m.