2004-11-12

When it's all gone away

It must have been late afternoon when I sat down on the bench by the marina, breathing in the salty air and staring out at the yachts--bobbing up and down on silent gentle waves. Autumn afternoons spent near the water...

People bring their dogs, bicycles, and children to this place; I like looking up from a book and seeing an older couple gently smile at me, and sometimes one will say, "How lovely...she's reading."

What do you say, when it's all gone away...?

Norah Jones' raspy, honeyed, languidly melacholic voice in the background, and that's the only line I can remember:

...And what do you say, when it's all gone away...?

Dear diary, I'm in love.

He's my best friend, and what I feel seems to grow rapidly, yet controlled...

I smile at times when I think it's been a year since we met; time slips by like sand. It feels like when I was a child, and I saw water run, thinking, it's visible, so I can grab onto it.

That's time, only...I can't hold on to it--a year. And when he said I love you, I began to cry...because it felt so deep or powerful, and we're too young to know how to control this--we're confused.

And what do you say, when it's all gone away?

aeka at 11:24 a.m.