2004-09-10

A New Rome

It�s us against them, and that�s what I�m mostly hearing nowadays within the entire school. Tomorrow is the widely talked about Mobilized Youth political rally, started by no other than Mr. Democrat, Ben.

I think he�s been working on this since last September, calling up who knows how many people and foundations trying to get funding. I think almost every single liberal in the school will be there (myself included), and as Ben said, �It�s just a big punk show�.

Actually, it far surpasses that of any regular �punk show�. In fact, I would call it a strong mix between the first �Woodstock� and Martin Luther King�s march in Washington, D.C.

I�m heading towards my own meeting and John comes walking up to me with this insane look on his face and says, Shit, Libet! Give me something to write with! I�m giving you directions to Mobilized Youth...you�re representing your own chapter, you have to say something when you get there...call me! Then he runs off, his band is playing there tomorrow.

This is really the most politically active year that our school has had so far, which surprises me. There�s Carta�s Freedom�s Answer, Ben�s Mobilized Youth, and of course, Politik, which is mine.

And yes...Politik is picking up much more momentum than I ever expected! We have our insignia, which is a demented-looking version of the Donkey and Elephant. We have established a president, vice president, secretaries, treasurers, and public relations...all doing a wonderful job.

During my twenty-hour days, I have been working nonstop. Politik is truly astounding me, not only is it something I created, but I certainly didn�t expect such rapid growth in membership. Also, I�ve decided that I will not affiliate Politik with JSA, for fear that they may have too many regulations that we may not agree with.

It�s hectic, with my cell phone ringing every ten minutes and my inbox flooded with messages with titles like, �here�s the revised version� or �yesterday�s agenda�.

Yet, I love, it all! It�s a rush, to create something, standing up for what it is we believe in! Optimistic as it may sound, I want to give other students the opportunity to question the unquestionable, and if necessary, to tell authority to piss up a rope.

This is my sole addiction: work. Bringing things into fruition, and no, it�s not to add appeal on college applications. Part of myself wants this because I�ve truly had enough--I�m fed up. Those who try to impose their unfair regulations and demands upon others--utterly disgusting!

Well, unfortunately...work calls.

aeka at 8:55 p.m.