2004-03-14

Ring me dry in candlelight

Lethargic day with mystic daydream clouds hanging about my head--cover my tired eyes and permit me sleep.

I wanted to call Paul so that we could go to the beach--it would be like old times. He would spend endless hours rambling on and on about how much he loves Silvana, and I would be there--listening, and trying my best to digest it all so that I may spit out a few words of wisdom for my young, Irish friend.

There is a problem here--I have lost control. Like rubber tires skidding off the wet drenched road, I live my life. If I could just care again, but I feel tired.

At six in the afternoon I turned out the lights and wrapped myself in my blankets after taking a shower. The dripping hot water dancing about my skin provided only temporary relief. Thus, I went to hide myself in that sea of off-white blankets.

Close your eyes and don't wake up until the problem is solved...but this is a whirlwind, and I can't stop it. My eyes closed for a bit, and I was awakened by my mother's presence as she stood over me--studying me. Her worry subsided after she saw that I was breathing and that my eyes were open. Ever since "that day" she's had subconscious worries about my committing suicide by stuffing my mouth with pills--not in this lifetime...

I have failed so miserably. My disappointment cannot be subsided by glasses of wine and the artificial nights that I make for myself on countless occasions. What does happen to a dream deferred? It rots like meat and then explodes, sending debris into your mind at imponderable speeds. My soul, no longer impregnable, becomes tainted...so tainted.

I'm a "good" writer, but there are so many others "just like me". Sometimes I repeat my own name several times to see if I can find some sort of truth, or to see if the name itself evokes a far away muse...it's just a damn name.

Libet--failure, writer...a writer who is a failure...

I ran out of wine, and my mother does not want to open the new bottles...we must wait several more years for that.

Rain...just rain, and I can articulate this mood that lingers amidst the damp fog in my soul. Golden sunlight trickle down and ring me dry--DRY...I want to be dry...

Light candles, give in to darkness, sit and look out of the window, press your forehead on the cold glass, see the world...

Ring me dry...

aeka at 8:33 p.m.