2004-02-24

Changing the world

My happiness is inmeasurable, I have been speaking to Ariana about the relief club for the children in third-world countries...

To make a long story short, there's a trip to Guatemala to pass out supplies and what not...I want to make the kids smile, and two weeks of my life live through what they have to.

This hurts me so much...to know that two innocent pearl-black eyes flood with hot tears at night. Some of these children are about five--barely begun to live, yet they don't have much to live for.

If only they could see the ducks swim in the clear spring water, and if only they could hear happiness resonate throughout their fragile beings.

I can't change the world...and I hate myself for that. Life on this earth resembles a vast canyon--there is a sharp and distinguishable discrepancy between agony and bliss. These are the two extremes of life...the calm river that runs below the two sides resembles a middle-path. We are scared to plunge into it for whatever reason. Life is the Brutus which killed Caesar--it runs a blade through the flesh and forces one to fall at the feet of Pompeii.

"Cowards die many times before their deaths; the valiant never taste of death but once. Of all the wonders that I yet have heard, it seems to me most strange, that men should fear, seeing that death, a necessary end, will come when it will come..."

aeka at 2:35 a.m.