2003-11-27

-Mayflower Compact

I woke up lacking the faintest notion of what was going on today. Of course, I could not be left in the dark for too long after looking at my calender and finding out that it is Thanksgiving. I ask myself what it is exactly that we are celebrating. Perhaps some will say that we are celebrating the first harvest in which the Pilgrims befriended the Native Americans and so on, and so on. I have a few corrections to make:

1) Technically, that was not the first harvest. The Pilgrims landed in Massachussetts, which was a few years after the Virginia Company settled there--I'm certain their's was the first harvest.

2) They did not befriend the Indians. After killing the "heathens" or "savages" they decide to befriend them probably out of their best interests. Remember kids, Puritans are evil--they will convert you...

Happy Thanksgiving...

aeka at 8:01 a.m.