2003-11-16

Scaramouche, my lover...

M. Binet--"You charge me with plagiarism, with filching the ideas of Moliere."

Andre (Scaramouche)--"There is always, of course the alternative possibility of two great minds working upon parallel lines."

Andre is undeniably one of the best characters that I have ever written about. His sharp pragmatism is admirable, and his urbane and nonchalant approach to issues is enviable. For being a cynic, implacably sardonic, and not to mention a lawyer, I give this character a ten out of ten.

I almost finished my essay on Jacksonian Democracy last night, and I read the two infamously boring chapters (seven and eight). I had been listening to the newest opera cd that I got--I Puritani. I tried looking for Andrea Bocelli, but I couldn't find his cds, although I did find Cecilia Bertoli. However, I hate female opera singers. The male voice is much more rich and sonorous. All in all, it is a good cd--it is based on a battle, and for some reason (perhaps the cover) I am reminded of Song of Roland. I have to say that that epic, along with the Gilgamesh are the only two that I truly enjoy. The rest just stand out as an overextended collection of embellished circumstances that people only think of as good because a group of pseudo-intellectuals known as CRITICS praise their literary worth. While Song of Roland and The Epic of Gilgamesh posses the same embellishments, at least they are not that long, therefore I can live with them.

aeka at 7:12 a.m.