2004-10-09

Uncertainties of Real-Time Trade

For economics, our final project involves a hypothetical stock portfolio with hypothetical money spent on real-time trades. We started this through SMG in September when Ms. King signed up the entire Honors class.

For my part, I insisted on diversifying the portfolio by investing in tech, pharmaceutical, commodities (oil, cocoa, and coffee to be precise), mutual funds, and a few blue-chip stocks to add to our stability.

It is so difficult--that portfolio owns me, and while I tend to keep in mind the fact that it is merely "pretend", I can't help but get passionate about my babies--my stocks.

Last week started out with great gains for our portfolio--from a good $348 all the way to $1,355 by the week's end, making us the winning team in the classroom (not statewide, however). And obviously, like any other investor, I was elated by this event--knowing that I picked the right stocks, and in all truth, being enormously proud of my bold investing technique--I take risks, I don't fall for dividends, I carefully look at the graphs, I ponder over the P/E ratio, and I favor long-term investment.

Yet, my frustration mounts as I look at my portfolio this morning and see that I'm a few hundred dollars short due to some transactions I made yesterday--irresponsible on my part, but I was at least able to justify my actions at the moment.

Losing money--even if it is hypothetical--hurts me deeply...it affects me. I am left as shaken as a heart-broken maiden. And now, after my glory I am left in the shadows of doubt--pondering over what stocks I bought.

I really do feel like crying right now...such an imbalance in my stock portfolio is really too much to take in.

I did, however, invest in crude oil (however skeptical my group members may be), although I fear that my affair with crude oil may be short-lived.

I only wish that there were some stock-broker reading this diary who can point the way and say, "buy this stock..." or "This is where the money is...".

Where are all of the stockbrokers?

aeka at 1:51 p.m.