2004-09-29

The new Basil and Dorian

A good friend of mine, who is in VPA art, asked me weeks ago if I would be willing to pose for him.

Since he is working on his portfolio to send off to some Chicago school, I kindly obliged, although the form in which he asked me was rather strange:

"I really like your face, would you be willing to pose for me?"

Personally, I believe this is a very original way to ask someone to pose--blunt, honest...definitely not shy.

Sitting in Statistics, I get a call to quickly run towards the VPA part of the campus because he feels that was the best time to get pictures of me. It was odd, having to sit still in some dark room with different sorts of lighting--yet, it worked...quite nicely.

He took pictures and such, and mumbled something about, "They'll be done soon, then I can do a few oils..."

The past few mornings, the first thing I hear after walking into Economics is, "Thanks so much for posing...it's coming out great..."

Since then, my desire to see this famous oil painting has grown! I must see this painting of myself. Marti tells me about the vibrant colors and the depth. The art students are beginning to talk about it, and I must see it! It is a burning desire that simply will not leave me...

I am worried however, that if I were to see the painting for the first time--my face brought to life through his brushstrokes--it may be enough to make me feel as though I am falling in love...with the painting. I worry that I will want to purchase my painting; yet, it's the last thing I would want to do: putting him in the position where he would have to sell.

I couldn't bring myself to do that...I am not that vile.

I did ask him this morning whether he would be willing to make another one--I will pay him to paint me again.

Truly, I must see this painting.

He's chewing on the offer that I made him; I just hope he takes it...after all, where else will I find another artist? Felipe is too arrogant to even attempt such a project, and, he lives much too far away.

I wonder if this will be like Basil Hallward and Dorian Grey--my sins will manifest themselves through that painting. If I fall madly in love with it, will I begin to envy the figure that peers at me with still, painted eyes?

I'm probably being too dramatic about all of this...it is just a painting, that is all. side-note: I have, for quite some time, been wanting to make fun of David for having the same name as the Green Party candidate. It's odd, everytime someone says, "David Cobb" I immediately think of Dave. If only this Dave were president...

aeka at 10:07 a.m.