2005-06-12

Dinner, With Friends...

Last night I had my first ever dinner party, in which I invited six of my closest friends. Bree leaves sometime next week, so I thought this the perfect opportunity to have us all sit back and chat under the setting Florida sun.

I baked an entire chicken (bare with me, I am unfamiliar with culinary terms)--my own recipe, which I call Mango-Cilantro Chicken. The seasonings are quite simple and consist of salt, pepper, diced cilantro leaves, diced Italian parsley, crushed culantro, grated lemon peels, and of course...thin mango slices.

The chicken is decorated with small slices of potatoes poured around the plate. The potatoes are first boiled, then sauteed with the mango slices, Teriyaki Sauce, and only a small hint of Balsamic vinegar...and a bit of cilantro.

For drinks, we partook in a Pellegrino on ice. Previously, I had cut lemons and fresh kiwi into very fine, colorful slices. Some of my guests, and myself, enjoyed our chilled Pellegrino with kiwi and lemon. Surprisingly, adding any "clean" fruit to the drink can be a success. So long as the taste of the fruit compliments the drink...I am now wondering if anyone has ever had a lemon-kiwi Pellegrino.

I truly enjoyed cooking, wearing my black slacks and collared, button-down shirt with a white apron to cover. I find that dinner with friends is one of the best inspirations for one to start cooking.

Aside from that there really is no terribly exciting news.

aeka at 8:42 a.m.