2005-04-29

Summmer Comes

Today I woke up to Led Zeppelin (BBC Sessions) and it was amazing, and I decided that I'll put things behind me and be happy. Exams are next week and right now I shouldn't have to worry about anything.

I wore my white linen skirt and everyone kept looking and smiling and telling me that I looked pretty. But I wear this sort of thing everyday, so that's why I paused to think when Glendi asked, "Are you happy today?"

Everyday should be like this--I should be grateful for breathing and living and walking and doing all the things that I do.

The scent of orange blossoms was out this afternoon, and clashing and gliding with April's warm sun. The weather's gotten cooler, and the beach beckons. I've always said I hated Florida, that's true, but there's still so much here, in Sarasota. There's still the salty-sweet air and warm, crisp evenings...perfume everywhere you go and the sound of seagulls overhead.

When it was time to read My Name is Asher Lev, I always imagined Asher's home in Nice like Sarasota, with the perfect blue sky and sea breeze.

Sometimes I walk and I feel transported back to a different time, because the smells bring the images to life. I'm transported to an age I left behind my nose keeps searching--breathing faster--and trying to keep the scent alive, because in keeping the scent alive, I can keep the moment alive.

I love summer. It's heat and flames thaw our old memories, and I feel more alive.

Pierce's parents are out for the weekend, and now there's a big senior party. I told him I'd bring the Pellegrino, in honor of his Italian heritage.

aeka at 2:32 p.m.