2005-03-18

Weekend Requiem

Tonight, Brienne and Pierce will be playing in Mozart: Requiem, the largest endeavor sought out by our school's (Booker High School V.P.A., and one of the top in the U.S.!) music department. It's quite an exciting time to see members of the Florida Westcoast Symphony walking about campus and practicing with our own music students.

It's exciting to see Brienne flipping through the official music score. It was the piece with which Mozart was obsessed in his latter years prior to his death--Requiem is regarded by many as the "death piece". It is haunting...the piece you listen to and suddenly begin to see the glass images of ghosts floating about. Our the memoirs of our soul come to life.

Classical and chamber music should always provide such an experience. There comes a time when we, as listeners, reach a level of emotional accord with the composers--it's brilliant moment.

For the remainder of the day, I will try my best to ready myself for the upcoming weekend, which includes my going to the annual Cancer Walk (my half brother has Leukemia), and the Selby Gardens plant sale--all, because I am, after all, N.H.S. president.

Officially, I have survived the dreaded induction ceremony. Last week, 81 more inductees were introduced to the organization, making us now a club of 145 members--nothing that I'm too thrilled about. The main point is, that this is one of the best ceremonies we've had in a while--it took a tremendous amount of money and planning, but I got it all done.

And now, it's time to give further attention to Al's book.

aeka at 11:23 a.m.