2005-03-12

negative

The bell rings and it's freezing, and gray, and raining. Drip-drops of water falling down from that dead sky that yawns above me.

My ears feel cold, and I wish I were in Canada again--that's real winter. And I'm walking toward my locker, turning on my cell phone while juggling with the three copies of Vonnegut I'm holding in my left arm. My phone beeps and I see there's a voicemail message:

hey babe. I wanted to know how you were doing. Have you, um, any news?

I know what he's referring to. He knows what he's referring to. We'll leave it at that. That faint click of my lock is heard as I mumble the combination to myself...and I begin to feel a certain, strangeness.

It's there. Suddenly, it's there. Relief passes through me like that awaited gust of soft wind on a sticky, Florida summer. I called Al immediately, and he lets out a sigh of relief.

We're not pregnant.

aeka at 11:46 a.m.