2004-11-03

Letters from the Underground

I couldn't let this day slip past me without my writing a lengthy entry--on my feelings...

Alright. I'm only 18, yet, I have always believed that with much effort--in the end--good should always prevail? Should I be discouraged after months of my participating in grass-roots politics?

Should I be disappointed after being the co-founder of a political organization whose sole purpose is to educate?

Each time I close my eyes, I keep envisioning my time at Georgetown University, during Congressional Workshop. I keep envisioning those conservative Texans, and their smirks...and the fact that back in July--deep within my heart--I knew that somehow, those smirks would be wiped off their faces.

And, after tigther regulations were placed on the Cuban Embargo (an issue that hits close to home), I had hope that I would see change...especially during my first election--the first time I would give substance to all my previous political statements, and vote.

By voting, I would make a difference...correct?

I must be really, really naive...because in the youthful energy and vigor (or, "vigah" as JFK said) I truly believed that people like myself, or Ben could make a difference.

So, should I be disappointed after putting up flyers for Jan Scheider and proudly wearing *both* Nader/Camejo and Kerry/Edwards pins? After my articles and the efforts I've made to mobilize people my age into caring?

My answer is--and always will be--no. I don't regret anything. I don't regret placing my vote on hopes and not fears.

Fear is the acid that corrodes the precious metal that is hope. I'm paraphrasing Ralph Nader when I say that when one is fighting for the right cause and for social issues, one has to be willing to lose, lose, lose, lose, lose...until winning.

I'm young, and I've got plenty of energy to spare--there is still time.

I think that as citizens of this nation, it is our duty to make certain that others--like ourselves--become educated on the issues. Because American makes it so easy to be non-participatory, and we seem to pay more attention to 'who's slept with whom', than with the real issues at hand.

We seem to give more importance to how we pray on Sundays, or what we do in our bedrooms than the issues plaguing our economy and our environment. Especially our environment!

To the people who did vote for Bush, I only hope that you are content--and sleep safely--knowing that you've voted for "a good, Christian man". Of course, why wouldn't you, right? I mean...Kerry does--after all--eat babies on weekends.

And, yes...I am angry. Yet, anger fades...but disappointment doesn't. I cannot help but ask myself the question of, "what are we doing?". Why are we not as educated as we should be? Why can't we open our eyes to the fact that slowly--but surely--we're moving towards nothingness. We can't see that our anti-trust laws need an update, or that religion has absolutely no place in government. Or that a Michigan representative--due to Detroit's 80% African-American population--claimed that the Michigan vote needed to be suppressed for this election. Or (and this may be a fucking shock) we're not the only country in the world!

But like I said...I plan to keep fighting. Far too many things to say, and unfortunately there aren't enough words (or attention-spans for that matter) in which to say them.

Felipe called me this morning, and for the first time, we had a friendly conversation...because we actually agreed on something. If I do need to go to university in Barcelona...I will do it...

aeka at 11:28 a.m.