2004-04-07

Closed for now...

While it very much pains me to say this, I will confess that for the past few days I have been suffering from a severe case of writer's block.

Due to my present fragile condition, I have thus decided to take a month's abstinency from Diaryland or any other place that requires creative thinking.

I hate to be a disappointment, but alas, this is life...dreadful. Adding to my grief, the author whom I adore so much and who gave me a fresh perspective on life at the age of fifteen passed away two years ago. Unfortunately, because of my failure to do a thorough background search and to keep myself updated with current events, I found out today.

This is in memory of Chaim Potok:

A book illustrated with building tops lay still on my desk, and written on it in large letters were "My Name is Asher Lev"

An awe-inspiring author who has been able to capture the soul and beauty of Hasidism for Jews and Goyim alike.

The world is lonely without your words, and this reader is devastated and lost, trying to find inspiration in the most menial places.

Chaim Potok, not only an author, but a wholly enlightened human being.

aeka at 12:52 p.m.