2004-01-12

Intellectual Prostitution

Since I was feeling like dying today, I really did not have the time to engage in any sort of deep thought--perhaps because my head hurts so much.

I will, however, write about something that Vin and I have been discussing for the past few days--modern-day intellectual prostitution. The phrase "intellectual Prostitution" is one that I came up with in order to describe the actions of today's students. Does it not seem that everywhere you look these days, everyone has a plethora of activities going on in their lives and at the same times attempting to ace the SATs in order to impress colleges? Vin said that there are no more geniuses alive today, and I personally could not agree more. There are no more geniuses because people have soiled the purity that is intellect and the retainment of knowledge. I hope that people don't kid themeselves when they cram so much just to get an "A". Firstly, the "A" makes no difference, because you study because you want to. You conduct unusual physics experiments in your garage, not so that you can show Harvard, but because you truly want to know WHY...

Everywhere you go there are whores. The over-achievers are the whores of the lowest caliber, because they have no moral, no integrity, no scruples when thinking about their intellectual purity (assuming that they even have any to begin with). Will I be forever cursed to live in a world of drones? I am not perfect, but I do recognize my faults. I do try to maintain my integrity...

aeka at 3:55 p.m.