2004-01-10

Faithful vs. Faithless

Right now, I really do not care for going to work. I think that reading ahead really helped for AP history, and in turn, that helped with all of my other classes. This week, I have not cried once, and frankly, with the classes and activities that I have going on in my life, that is certainly something to brag about.

I started to read "The Picture of Dorian Gray" yesterday, and why is it that Basil reminds me of David? Well, the first chapter contains some quotes that I really found some degree of meaning in.

"The worst of having a romance of any kind is that it leaves one so unromantic."

"Those who are faithful know only the trivial side of love: It is the faithless who know love's tragedies"

There are more quotes, but I really do not want to sit here all morning and write down the entire chapter. I particularly enjoy the last quote--the faithful versus the faithless in terms of love. Perhaps we make too much out of these things, because for the most part, society believes in love and God. There is a small part who is realistic. However, we cannot criticize (at least, I won't criticize) the majority of society for their beliefs. It just so happens that life is indeed quite short, and people such as myself tend to complain and moan about "the preponderance of my worries", when in reality, the gravity of a situation only depends on the manner in which you handle it. In history yesterday, I found out that the reason why the vast majority of Native Americans don't attend college is because they are too busy trying to earn a miserable living. This explains why the large universities don't claim to have any percentage of Native Americans. So here are a peoples who have been culturally, no, GENERALLY degraded ever since this land has been discovered, and yet they still endure. How does this compare to me? Here I am, only having to work once a week, and I am sure that the amount of stress that I'm put under is not nearly as much as the Natives encounter. So, I meet this cute blonde bimbo over the summer, he leaves for Chicago, and I begin to write the most heartwrenching poetry, because according to myself, I am the most cursed human on this planet.

Yesterday's contemplation: It does not matter what it is that you do in this life, as long as you have fulfilled yourself, and you find happiness, even within the very depths of your ventures.

aeka at 6:29 a.m.