2003-11-26

Jesus Christ Superstar

I was very pleased to hear that both John and Aaron made the Academic Olympics Team (John is a physics genius and Aaron is just a genius all around). They deserve it. John and I were talking yesterday morning, and he mentioned that he went to go see the play "Jesus Christ Superstar". I personally think that it is unique because the actors dress in modern day clothing, and according to John, the Roman soldiers look like guys in the GAP commercials. That is very interesting.

I worked on some of my book last night, and I had so many ideas that I just wrote them all down and perhaps throughout the day today I may get some more. I am hoping that I will be done with this chapter by the end of Thanksgiving break, afterwards I will send my material to my editor/psychiatrist--Vin. Speaking of which, journal, I would very much like to express the fact that I feel a bit guilty. Given that I am not a perfect friend, yet I aspire to be, and sometimes I get so wrapped up in my own meaningless issues that I forget about the ones that my friends are going through. Ever since July (although it has stopped now) I have been plaguing her with countless e-mails about my trivial problems. I wonder if I have even listened to hers, and if I have, did I even make a sufficient effort to alleviate them? I feel like one of those people who just sit around and complain, and later on after an elongated period of brooding, I develop an outlook even more sophomoric than the one I had prior. I believe that my mother is right--I should go see a psychiatrist.

I spoke to one of my other friends yesterday, and she kept on saying how she wanted to move to Chicago because she can't stand it here. I will agree with her--the fact that one needs to move on--but I think sometimes people miss the entire point. After reading Thoreau yesterday, I became startled. The happiness which he experienced had nothing to do with love, nor material wants, rather it emphasized simplicity. I very much understand him, mainly because I used to live by that same philosophy. I do strongly believe that people do things unconsciously--they don't know why they are doing it. They want gains sans an underlying reason behind it. When I read that book on Zen Buddhism a few years back, one of the teachings that they most emphasized was awareness--even with the most menial tasks, you must be aware that you are doing it. I didn't fully grasp the message behind it because of my young age at the time, but I know now.

aeka at 7:57 a.m.