2003-11-25

Deception

"The style is compact, and the language has an antique purity like wine grown colorless with age."--James Russell Lowell.

When will someone refer to my writing in such manner? It bothers me day after day when people ask me if I'm going to apply to Harvard. Why does everyone think that I'm intelligent? I ardently believe that I am no more special than a grain of sand in the vast Sahara Desert. I wonder why people deem me so intelligent. I may be very silent in class, but that does not make me the "hidden genius". Sometimes I may make witty remarks, but one need not render me a rare intellectual. I am curious about how people view me, because I know how I view myself. To be honest, (this is perhaps due in part to my human qualities) I still believe that the world revolves around me, therefore, I don't see nor care about anything else. Because of this, I can't really tell what people think, but I will say this: I am NOT a prodigy. Despiite what I say, I am not a prodigy.

Im not going to Harvard, what are people thinking?

aeka at 2:23 p.m.