2003-11-13

Transcendentalist dreams

One of the greatest things that I admire most in history is transcendentialism: in essence, the belief that a new nation such as the United States could forge through with a new body of literature diverging from that of Europe, which, for a long time had been the Americans' sole means of insperation and literary escape--wholly amazing. The one aspect that I do not like about the new novels written during this time-period were those famous tear-jerkers that were so often written by upcoming female writers. However, all of this is NOTHING compared to Voltaire, and Marquis DeSade (how I love the fact that he started to write using his own blood as ink). Dreadful me, I am a loser of the worst caliber. Who in the hell sits here and writes shit like this? --Until I get a life...I will forever be the unyielding elitist.

aeka at 9:42 p.m.